First Steps

So let’s talk about 1st steps…

firststep

I admit that I needed a major nudge to take some first steps in this journey.

For years (actual years!!) I have hemmed and hawed about getting some help with fertility. A combination of not having enough time and disinterested doctors left me unmotivated. I have always wanted to have more kids with Allan. That being said, I’ve seen the same group of OBGYN doctors and Nurse Practitioners for 6 years- since our move from Tennessee to Texas. I basically picked a doctor off the internet and went with it. Since then I got my yearly Well Woman exams, mostly mentioned in passing that we were trying to conceive (TTC) and got not much back from the Drs. The only advice I’d get would be to take a prenatal vitamin and give it 6 more months or time our intercourse better. Yup, we got that! Gee thanks.

SO! Years have passed without having answers and this left me feeling hopeless. Allan has always been supportive about doing what makes me happy and pursuing this IF I wanted to. He would be thrilled to have another child but it’s sort of on me to get some answers about my body because obviously he can’t do that for me! Darn… What was my go to? Stalling out. It was a fruitless cycles for a long time. I’d start up again on my crusade and lose my momentum, stalled out again.

Why is this time different than any other time? I have brain power now. Sad but true. Working 40 or more hours a week for the past forever takes just that… 40+ hours a week of your time, your thoughts, your spirit. You can’t do it all and that was much of the challenge. Some things fall to the bottom of the list. Making a baby and solving this problem even though it was important to me just wasn’t in the cards at that time.

Now I’m excited. I’m hopeful. And I’m desperately looking forward to the end game. I’m so thankful that I’m able to take this journey now and I hope that you’ll come along with me.

Maybe you’re experiencing the same things or know someone who is. Let’s share! It only gets easier when there’s a sounding board and base of knowledge and support.

One thought on “First Steps

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

